Skip Navigation

Unit 4th Parachute Brigade (Territorial)

The 4th Parachute Brigade (Territorial)  was formed in 1947 as part of 16th Airborne Division (TA), with headquarters at  the Duke of York Barracks Chelsea.

The brigade comprised of:
10th Battalion (TA)
11th Battalion (TA)
14th Battalion (TA)

In 1950, the brigade was renumbered as 44th Parachute Brigade (TA).

In 1956, 16 Airborne Division was disbanded following a reduction in the number of TA Parachute Battalions, with the remaining 5 TA PARA Battalions, including the 10th and 11th Battalions, placed under the command of  44th Independent Parachute Brigade Group.

Brigade Commanders

1947-48 Brigadier SJ Hill DSO MC
1948-50 Brigadier JMK Spurling DSO
1950-53 Brigadier JA Hopwood DSO
1953-55 Brigadier WD Tighe Wood MC
1955-56* Brigadier PGF Young

* Brigadier Young also commanded 44th Independent Parachute Brigade Group.

by Paradata Editor

Paradata Survey