Skip Navigation


ParaData has been created through the generous support of the Airborne Forces Security Fund, the Heritage Lottery Fund and Mrs Rex Dobie, who funded the scoping study In Memoriam to her late husband Lt Col DT Dobie DSO (1912- 1971) CO 1 Para Bn 1944-5.

ParaData was commissioned by the Trustees of the Airborne Forces Museum. It was designed and produced by Cogapp ( in collaboration with RWDP Ltd and the Trustees of the Airborne Forces Museum.

We would like to thank:

The Trustees of the Airborne Forces Museum (in 2008):
General Sir John Reith KCB CBE
Major-General Dair Farrar-Hockley MC
Major-General Adrian Freer OBE
Brigadier Ian McGill CBE
Colonel John Crosland CBE, MC
Colonel David Benest OBE
Colonel Robert Kershaw
Colonel Michael Russell
Lieutenant-Colonel Simon Barry
Lieutenant-Colonel Alastair Rogers
Major Michael McRitchie, MC
Mr Jim Foulkes

Cogapp -
Management – Alex Morrison, Rachael Rainbow
Historical Director – Colonel Robert Kershaw
Editorial – Emily Sands, Adam Bales, Joshua Routh, Sam Wander
Technical – Tristan Roddis, Alex Bridge, Martin Edwards, Ben Rubinstein, Andy Taylor, Luke Davies
Interaction design – Pete Gale
Graphic design – Colin Jenkinson, Ben Aquilina, Fiona Dungay

RWDP Project Team:
Nikolaus Boulting, Jenny Hopkins, Bob Reid

RHQ The Parachute Regiment
Lieutenant-Colonel John Handford OBE
Lieutenant-Colonel Phillip Stallard
Major Paul Copson

Airborne Forces Museum, Aldershot:

Alan Brown, Bob Hilton, Lieutenant-Colonel Stuart Hepton 

Mr John Harding for additional historical research

Lieutenant-Colonel David Reynolds the editor of Pegasus Magazine

Integrated Circles - For supplying the kiosk hardware

Imperial War Museum

The Second World War Experience Centre
Cathy Pugh

All the members of the Airborne Forces and their families who have contributed interviews, images, documents and other material to ParaData. In particular we would like to thank:

Major-General Anthony Deane-Drummond DSO, MC
Major Tony Hibbert MC
Colonel John Waddy OBE
Bob Prior and the Prior family

All the volunteers who have kindly contributed to the development of ParaData and archival assistance. Special mention and grateful thanks to (in no particular order):

Tom Lusby - The first Editor of ParaData
David Mallam
Phil Jennett
Niall Cherry
Bob Hilton
Gil Boyd
John White
Mike Peters
Pip Tyler
Jennifer Tonkins
Rebecca Blackburn
Alex Pearman
Madeline Trout
Dan Francis
Harvey Grenville Volunteer Editor
Wendy George Assistant Editor
Jon Baker Museum Curator

Student Volunteer Team: Sophie House, Becky Wilford, Adam Grant, Tim Knight-Hughes, Margaret Szczepek, Josephine Bailley.

ParaData is maintained by the Airborne Assault Museum. For site, content and other enquiries, please contact the curator at:

Telephone enquiries: 01223 839909


by Paradata Editor

Paradata Survey